The Forest Garden

Many people have beautiful gardens around their homes.  Perhaps you are one of those people who has that talent for keeping the beauty of flowers blooming around your home.  I am not so good at keeping flowers in my yard but I do enjoy the subtle and some times spectacular beauty of the wild flowers that grow in the forest.   As I continue to write my blogs I want to share all of the many things my woodlot has to offer.  In this blog I want to share some of the beauty found on the forest floor.

In my region, the wild forest flowers are at their best in late spring, around the first of June.   Many of these flowers seem to want to take advantage of the sun that reaches the forest floor just before the leaves of the hardwood trees are fully developed.  In my years of managing the forest I have noticed that some flora have a positive response to a little extra light reaching the forest floor.

The ground in this forest stand is completely covered with blooming forest flowers in early June.

In this blog I will use more photos and fewer words as seeing these flowers is much more important than reading about them.   You can click on any of the photos to get a larger image and I highly recommend this for this blog.

Yellow Clintonia

Bunchberry

Wild Lily of the Valley

Bunchberry grows best in more direct sunlight.  These grow well in parts of my christmas tree lot.  They make a very beautiful, low growing, ground cover.  The white petals, which are actually modified leaves, give way to a scarlet red cluster (bunch) of berries in the summer.

Star Flower

Lady Slipper – Prince Edward Island’s provincial flower

Close up of the delicate beauty of the Lady Slipper.

I put in two photos of the Lady slipper as they are most deserving of showing off their beauty.  These forest flora are one more reason I feel so fortunate to have this woodlot and I want to continue to share it with you, where ever you are in the world.

Until next time, keep safe and well.

One thought on “The Forest Garden

Leave a Reply

