Hello World – Welcome to Watts Tree Farm

This is my first Blog and I hope it will be fun for me to write and for you to read.

Watts Tree Farm is a 40 hectare (100 acre) woodlot located in Eastern, Prince Edward Island, Canada. As I write my blogs I hope to touch on many subjects related to owning, enjoying and using a small piece of the world forest. It does not matter what part of the world you live in I think you will find something interesting. You don’t have to be a land owner just someone who loves forest and trees. I will try to be a little entertaining. However, at times I intend to use the blog to teach what I know about forest management, trees, wildlife, Christmas trees, recreation and many other subjects.

I believe that owning a forest is a responsibility. But the forest should give us many things, including some income. We all think about forests from our own point of view. I will give you mine. You may not agree with what I do or how I do things but we are all entitled to our opinions. These differences make the world a wonderful and interesting place. We form our opinions from information we receive from others. We take those ideas and think about them and finally form our own unique opinions. This is what I would like to accomplish. Not that what I am doing is right or wrong but it is there for you to read about and form your own opinions. I believe in using the forest and trying to have a vision for improving it. At Watts Tree Farm I think we take a balanced approach.

As I am most definitely “technology challenged” I hope you will bear with me as I try to learn how to use the features of this blog site. I hope some of you will reply and perhaps suggest topics I can post. You may have questions that I can answer in the posts. If one person has a question it is safe to bet that there are others who are wondering the same thing.

I can only converse in English but I hope the blog will be found by people around the world. You can live in a city like London, England or Tokyo, Japan and I still think you will find this blog site interesting. I would like to hear about forests in other places. However, I will talk mostly about what I know and things I see and do in the 40 ha Watts Tree Farm. I’ll try to add a few photographs to keep it interesting. As they say, ” A picture is worth a thousand words.” so I will be able to write a whole lot less. I am not sure how long a blog should be or how often I will write.

Perhaps it will take more than one blog to set the stage. I would like to give you some more information about the woodlot and the types of trees we have. I would like to talk about our management philosophy. You will learn more about my passion for value-added and trying to grow the best possible tree and not necessarily the most possible trees. You will understand more as time goes on. You will see that the forest has many uses and many products. You will see how we integrate wildlife needs into the management done in the woodlot. Lets think of this as a journey and the journey begins here and now.

Until next time, keep safe and well.

2 thoughts on “Hello World – Welcome to Watts Tree Farm

Leave a Reply

